DIY: Anchor Tote

I honestly can’t believe that it is almost August! I have had such a wonderful time this summer thrifting, hiking, taking trips, and crafting, but one of my favorite things I have done so far this summer was go on a pretty spontaneous trip to the beach with my friends from back home. With just a few short days to plan, I decided it would be fun to design a tote for transporting all of my favorite things to the beach. There’s not too much needed to create this tote, and it can easily be done in one afternoon.

Image

The supplies that you’ll need to make this no-sew tote are listed above and can be found at your local craft store. I purchased just a half yard of fabric since I knew that the anchor I created would not take too much to make.

Image

The steps to create the tote are pretty simple! 1- You’ll need to flip your fabric over and draw an anchor the size that you’d like it to be on your bag (not pictured). Once you have your anchored design marked, simply cut it out of the fabric.  2- Use fabric glue on the back of your fabric anchor and adhere it to the tote in whatever placement you prefer. Let the glue dry completely– I let it dry for 30 minutes to make sure it was secure. 3- Once the glue has dried, you can now use paint to add designs to your tote. I chose to use a glitter paint around the edge of the anchor to add a little glitz. Don’t forget to let this glue dry for about 15 minutes.

And there you have it! A nautical-themed tote that can carry all that you need for a quick getaway. Hope you all get to fit in a trip to a favorite place full of exciting adventures, there’s plenty out there to be explored!

Love,
Rosemary

Leave a Reply

